clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Miami New Times Thrice Nominated for AFJ Awards

Eater National has the full list of winners (finalists?) of The Association of Food Journalists annual awards competition, recognizing "excellence in reporting and writing in all media, newspaper food section design and content, food illustration and food photography."

Entry into the competition is not free: "The contest is open to any food journalist who writes in the English language; contest fees are $30 per entry for members and $40 for non-members." Which explains why certain publications like The New York Times do not appear, for some publications will not pay fees to enter competitions.

The placement of its winners will be announced at AFJ’s annual conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico on Thursday, Sept. 2, 2010, but in the meantime, congrats go out to Miami New Times critic Lee Klein for Best Newspaper Restaurant Criticism, Miami New Times staff writer Gus Garcia-Roberts for Best Newspaper Food Feature under 200,000 Circulation for his story, "Pork Pirates," and to Jackie Sayet, Michael Schwartz's assistant and MGFD Brand Manager, and Miami New Times editorial contributor for Best Newspaper Food News Story for her "Bogus Beef: Miami Restaurants Say It's Kobe, But It's Not." A high five also goes out to our neighbors to the north with an AFJ nod to Deborah Hartz, food editor of the Sun Sentinel for Best Newspaper Food Coverage Over 250,001 Circulation. [EaterWire]