clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Announcing the 2011 Eater Award Winners For Miami

If you buy something from an Eater link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics policy.

It is time now to announce the winners of the 2011 Eater Awards, presented by Patrón Tequila. In over 50 categories spanning thirteen cities, the winners comprise a diverse bunch of the finest and most interesting chefs, operators, and characters in the country. We applaud them. You are hereby instructed to applaud them. So, without further ado—actually, a few quick pre-ambling thoughts....

To recap, Eater's local editors in NYC, LA, SF, Chicago, Portland, Seattle, Austin, Dallas, Houston, New Orleans, Atlanta, and Miami nominated candidates for five major local categories: Restaurant of the Year, So Hot Right Now Restaurant, Chef of the Year, Bartender of the Year, and Best Bathroom. Eater readers then voted to narrow the field to a final three in each category. From that final three, the Eater editorial team chose the winner. Winners were then moved up to a national round to select the best of all the land. In very rare cases, we exercised Rule 17, Sub. 19, which allows for veto of the popular vote. (This rule was used just once in 2010.) In addition to these main stage winners, said Eater editorial team has named worthy winners in more specialized categories, for myriad notable achievements.

Nominees and winners alike will be feted at a party tonight in Manhattan. Those winners that couldn't make it should watch their mail for packages containing cans of Italian peeled tomatoes. And now, without further ado, the winners in Miami. Click through for the full rundown of winners across the country on Eater National.

Restaurant of the Year, Miami
Nominees: NAOE, Pubbelly, 1500 Degrees, Sustain Restaurant + Bar, Zuma
Winner: Sustain Restaurant + Bar

So Hot Right Now, Miami
Nominees: Yardbird Southern Table & Bar, Harry's Pizzeria, Tudor House, Phuc Yea!, Barceloneta .
Winner: Tudor House

Chef of the Year, Miami
Nominees: Alberto Cabrera (The Local), Paula DaSilva (1500 Degrees), Makoto Okuwa (Makoto), Todd Erickson (Haven), Joel Huff (Azul), Gabriel Fenton (Bourbon Steak), E. Michael Reidt (Area 31), Kevin Cory (NAOE), Jimmy Carey (Jimmy'z Wynwood, Jimmy'z), Josh Marcus (Chow Down Grill, Chow Down South Beach), Jeff McInnis (ex Gigi, Yardbird Southern Table & Bar), Peter Vauthy (Red, The Steakhouse Miami Beach)
Winner: E. Michael Reidt (Area 31)

Bartender of the Year, Miami
Nominees: John Lermayer (Florida Room), Camille Austin (Hakkasan), Julio Cabrera (National Hotel), Gabe Orta (W South Beach), Paul Sevigny (The Florida Room), Elad Zvi (W South Beach)
Winner: John Lermayer (Florida Room)

Bathroom of the Year, Miami
Nominees: The Forge, Yardbird Southern Table & Bar
Winner: Yardbird Southern Table & Bar

Empire Builder of the Year, Miami
Nominees: Michael Schwartz, Michelle Bernstein, Pubbelly Group, Richard Hales (Sakaya Kitchen)
Winner: Richard Hales, Sakaya Kitchen

The Eater Awards 2011 would not be possible not only without presenting sponsor Patrón Tequila but also the event's product sponsors—Seamless, Organic Valley, USA Pears, Sixpoint Craft Ales, Whole Foods, Pat LaFrieda, Forever Cheese, and Sokol Blosser—and participating restaurants—Mission Chinese, Cookshop, Franklin BBQ, Baohaus, flour + water, Beast, Pok Pok, Red Farm, and Marble Lane. We salute them all.


eater-awards-2011-seamless.png eater-awards-2011-organic-valley.png USA_Pears_EA.jpg Sixpoint_EA.jpg Whole_Foods_EA.jpg eater-awards-2011-pat-lafrieda.png eater-awards-2011-mitica.png eater-awards-2011-dehesa.png eater-awards-2011-sokol-blosser-2.png